Overheating
Electric power-assisted pedal bicycles (5045)
10 months
SaferProducts.gov consumer incident report 20260329-C4087-2147321191. Severity: Injury, Emergency Department Treatment Received. Product: Orion Moto 2024 Orion e20x (2024 Orion e20x 20 Wheel 500W 48V Deluxe Electric Balance Bike). Incident: Orion e20 Electric Balance Bike Charging Port Failure On March 29, 2026, an 8-year-old child sustained burn injuries to his hand and fingers while connecting an Orion e20 electric balance bike to its original provided charger under adult supervision. At the moment of connection, an arc flash event occurred at the charging port, causing immediate burns concentrated at the fingertips of the child's hand. The child was transported by ambulance and treated at the emergency room, where burns were assessed and the child was discharged the same day. Key facts: The original OEM charger (Model C120 V540A20, manufactured by Guangzhou Electrony Corporation) was used confirmed by the e20x-specific warning label on the charger itself The power strip the charger was plugged into was not connected to the wall outlet, meaning there was no AC power in the circuit ruling out the wall outlet, power strip, and AC side of the charger as fault sources The fault was therefore DC in origin, consistent with a battery-level arc flash at the moment of connector engagement Visible burn damage and charring is present on the bike's charging port Visible melting and burn damage is present on the DC connector tip of the provided charger An adult was present and supervising at the time of the incident The bike is marketed and sold exclusively for children ages 8-12 The battery is a 48V 8Ah LiFePO4 pack capable of delivering extremely high instantaneous current during a short circuit event No prior damage to the charger connector was observed before the incident The charging port cover was used regularly, t
UnverifiedEvidence ★★★★☆View report detailsHide report details
Overheating
Electric power-assisted pedal bicycles (5045)
10 months
Months until failure
10 months
Repair cost
Not stated
Repaired
Not stated
Manufacturer warranty
Not stated
Extended warranty
Not stated
Support helpful
Not stated
Would recommend
Not stated
AI extraction confidence
88%
Verification status
Unverified
Evidence quality
★★★★☆ (4/5)