Fire / ignition
Ranges or Ovens, Not Specified (281)
11 months
SaferProducts.gov consumer incident report 20211209-A8864-2147358493. Severity: No Incident, No Injury. Product: Kitchen Aid KOCE500ESS (Kitchen Aid 30 inch combo wall oven / convection microwave oven unit. Model KOCE500ESS). Incident: A brand new KitchenAid wall oven was installed in our home on January 6, 2021. This was actually the second brand new KitchenAid wall oven we have had installed in the last two years, the first one we purchased on May 20, 2020 which subsequently broke six weeks later. Regardless, this new unit was installed on January 6, 2021 and on Thanksgiving day, in the middle of cooking the turkey dinner, our oven stopped working. The unit was still receiving electricity however the heating discontinued at some point walk cooking the turkey. I contacted Plaza Appliance Mart, The store where we purchased the wall oven, and they agreed to come out and remove the wall oven and give us our money back. Plaza Appliance smart came out to our house on December 8 and, in the course of removing the wall oven, pointed out to us that an electrical fire had occurred within the wall oven junction box where the wall oven is connected to the wiring that goes into our walls. I am very concerned that a fire occurred as a result of this product and that is why I am reporting this product to you. I can send you pictures of the fire damage if you need them. Please note that I do not know what the actual manufacture date is or the UPC code because the wall oven has been removed.
UnverifiedEvidence ★★★★☆View report detailsHide report details
Fire / ignition
Ranges or Ovens, Not Specified (281)
11 months
Months until failure
11 months
Repair cost
Not stated
Repaired
Not stated
Manufacturer warranty
Not stated
Extended warranty
Not stated
Support helpful
Not stated
Would recommend
Not stated
AI extraction confidence
88%
Verification status
Unverified
Evidence quality
★★★★☆ (4/5)