Product image pending

We track images separately from defect reports.

Electronics

Apple MacBook Pro (16-inch, 2023, M3 Max) - A2991

1 source-linked failure report. Most reported: Fire / ignition. Typical failure around 0 mo.

Reliability signal — · Insufficient data · data confidence Very Low

1 confirmed failure reports

Reliability summary

What is likely to go wrong, when it happens, and how expensive it can be — from source-linked failure reports. Counts are reports in our database, not a population failure rate.

Reliability signal

—

1 confirmed failure report · Insufficient data · Data confidence: Very Low

Need at least 5 confirmed failure-signal reports before showing an A–F grade.

Most common issue
Fire / ignition
Typical first failure
0 mo
Median of confirmed reports with timing
Median repair cost
—
Reported costs only · market varies
Highest reported repair
—
Not a quote · costs differ by country

What breaks?

Failure types

Click a type in the reports section below to filter.

  • Fire / ignition1 · 100%

When does it break?

Failure timing

Months after purchase, using reports that included timing.

What does it cost?

Reported repair costs

Distribution of owner-reported repair costs— not a quote or guarantee. Labor and parts prices vary by country.

No reported repair costs yet for this model.

Median months to failure

0

Failure reports

1

View →

Median repair cost

—

Still recommend

—

% repaired

—

% mfr warranty

—

% extended warranty

—

% support helpful

—

Use these reports as a risk signal, then check current listings before you buy.

Search this model on Amazon

As an Amazon Associate, After Warranty may earn from qualifying purchases.

What breaks?

What breaks? · reports

Fire / ignition

Computers (Equipment and Electronic Games) (557)

0 months

Government / agencyIndexed Oct 18, 2026Source-linkedVerify source — SaferProducts.gov incident

SaferProducts.gov consumer incident report 20250915-16C91-2147327796. Severity: Incident, No Injury. Product: Apple MacBook Pro (16-inch, 2023, M3 Max) - A2991 (Apple 2023 MacBook Pro Laptop, M3 Max chip with 16-core CPU and 40-core GPU, built for Apple Intelligence. The device has a 16.2-inch Liquid Retina XDR Display, comes in Space Black, and was configured with 48GB Unified Memory and 1TB SSD storage. Standard MacBook Pro size and weight (approximately 14.0 x 9.8 x 0.66 inches, around 4.7 pounds)). Incident: I received an Apple 2023 MacBook Pro Laptop (M3 Max chip, 16-core CPU, 40-core GPU, 16.2-inch Liquid Retina XDR Display, 48GB Unified Memory, 1TB SSD, Space Black). The item had just been delivered and was placed inside my house, but before I even had the chance to use it, the built-in lithium battery suddenly overheated and exploded. The laptop began emitting smoke and caught fire, which required me to use a fire extinguisher to put it out. Fortunately, no one was using the device at the time, so there were no injuries, but the situation was extremely hazardous and could have caused serious harm or property damage. The device itself was destroyed, and I have photos available of the aftermath.

UnverifiedEvidence ★★★★☆
View report details

Months until failure

0 months

Repair cost

Not stated

Repaired

Not stated

Manufacturer warranty

Not stated

Extended warranty

Not stated

Support helpful

Not stated

Would recommend

Not stated

AI extraction confidence

90%

Verification status

Unverified

Evidence quality

★★★★☆ (4/5)

Discussion

Compare nearby models

Similar products

Stay ahead of failures

Notify me about this model

Get an email when a new source-linked failure report is published for the Apple MacBook Pro (16-inch, 2023, M3 Max) - A2991.

We only email when a new published report is added for Apple MacBook Pro (16-inch, 2023, M3 Max) - A2991. No spam, unsubscribe by contacting support.

Contribute signal

Had a failure with this model?

Add your experience and help future shoppers understand what happens after the warranty.

Submit your experience