Fire / ignition
Other Portable or Stationary Power Tools (809)
5 months
SaferProducts.gov consumer incident report 20250914-4C59D-2147327839. Severity: Incident, No Injury. Product: Elegoo Centauri Carbon (The printers are the Elegoo Centauri Carbon model, though the currently unreleased Elegoo centauri may also be affected. The printers are grey boxes with steel panels on all sides and a smoke grey tempered glass top and front door. Printers are approximately 398 x 404 x 490 mm in overall size.). Incident: Elegoo Centauri Carbon 3D printers use a USB C cable which provides 24v power at up to 4.3A to the printhead PCB. Data lines are shielded twisted pair 24 AWG while power and gnd are untwisted 20 AWG. The strain relief on my printer's PCB failed exposing the wiring underneath and causing a short and toolhead board failure. Another user provided a video of a similar failure accompanied by visible and audible electrical arcing in the failed region of the cable, posing an immediate electrical fire hazard. The design of the printer's strain relief and cable chain puts it under stress during homing and printing operations that may contribute to failure. Community members have identified at least a dozen printers with some combination of strain relief deformation or separation from cable sheathing, bulging of cable sheathing, or visible helical twisting of insulated wires underneath the sheathing in the strained regions. Elegoo support provided a replacement cable to me but the recent report of visible electrical arcing, precedent of house fires and recalls caused by strain relief failures in other 3D printers, and number of Centauri Carbon units with strain relief damage that went unnoticed until the problem was mentioned to them is concerning. My printer was preorder around 2/15/25, has an mfg. date of 4/1/25, and arrived around 5/15/25. I have included photos of my printer as well as the other 10 units for which photos showing potential cable damage are available. Of the four units where total print time is know it ranged from 100-600 ho
UnverifiedEvidence ★★★★☆View report detailsHide report details
Fire / ignition
Other Portable or Stationary Power Tools (809)
5 months
Months until failure
5 months
Repair cost
Not stated
Repaired
Not stated
Manufacturer warranty
Not stated
Extended warranty
Not stated
Support helpful
Not stated
Would recommend
Not stated
AI extraction confidence
88%
Verification status
Unverified
Evidence quality
★★★★☆ (4/5)