Product image pending

We track images separately from defect reports.

Kitchen Appliance

Onewheel Onewheel+ XR

3 source-linked failure reports. Most reported: Battery failure. Typical failure around 4.1 yr.

Reliability signal — · Insufficient data · data confidence Very Low

3 confirmed failure reports

Reliability summary

What is likely to go wrong, when it happens, and how expensive it can be — from source-linked failure reports. Counts are reports in our database, not a population failure rate.

Reliability signal

—

3 confirmed failure reports · Insufficient data · Data confidence: Very Low

Need at least 5 confirmed failure-signal reports before showing an A–F grade.

Most common issue
Battery failure
Typical first failure
4.1 yr
Median of confirmed reports with timing
Median repair cost
—
Reported costs only · market varies
Highest reported repair
—
Not a quote · costs differ by country

What breaks?

Failure types

Click a type in the reports section below to filter.

  • Battery failure2 · 66.7%
  • Structural / mechanical failure1 · 33.3%

When does it break?

Failure timing

Months after purchase, using reports that included timing.

What does it cost?

Reported repair costs

Distribution of owner-reported repair costs— not a quote or guarantee. Labor and parts prices vary by country.

No reported repair costs yet for this model.

Median months to failure

49.5

Failure reports

3

View →

Median repair cost

—

Still recommend

—

% repaired

—

% mfr warranty

—

% extended warranty

—

% support helpful

—

Use these reports as a risk signal, then check current listings before you buy.

Search this model on Amazon

As an Amazon Associate, After Warranty may earn from qualifying purchases.

What breaks?

What breaks? · reports

Structural / mechanical failure

Hoverboards and powered skateboards (5025)

47 months

Government / agencyIndexed Oct 22, 2026Source-linkedVerify source — SaferProducts.gov incident

SaferProducts.gov consumer incident report 20221116-68DB4-2147352595. Severity: Injury, Emergency Department Treatment Received. Matched catalog product: Onewheel Onewheel+ XR. Source model text: XR. Incident: While riding a onewheel XR on flat paved road, it unexpectedly did a nosedive and caused my self to be thrown to the ground. as a result of the accident, I sustained multiple broken bones including a clavicle, ribs, an elbow and wrist fractures.

UnverifiedEvidence ★★★★☆
View report details

Months until failure

47 months

Repair cost

Not stated

Repaired

Not stated

Manufacturer warranty

Not stated

Extended warranty

Not stated

Support helpful

Not stated

Would recommend

Not stated

AI extraction confidence

92%

Verification status

Unverified

Evidence quality

★★★★☆ (4/5)

Discussion

Battery failure

Hoverboards and powered skateboards (5025)

Government / agencyIndexed Oct 22, 2026Source-linkedVerify source — SaferProducts.gov incident

SaferProducts.gov consumer incident report 20221116-61340-2147352603. Severity: Injury, Hospital Admission. Matched catalog product: Onewheel Onewheel+ XR. Source model text: XR+. Incident: Onewheel XR+. Was riding it in the parking lot. Had charged it again so it was close to full battery. Rode it for about 8 miles with no issue. Then charged and rode again. Was in a parking lot and while going around a turn at around 7-8 mph, it nosedived and threw me on my back. The impact broke my collarbone into 3 places. I�ve ridden motorcycles all my life (still own a [REDACTED]). I�ve skateboarded, skied, knee boarded, snowboarded, never broke a bone before. This threw me to the asphalt with zero warning.

UnverifiedEvidence ★★★★☆
View report details

Months until failure

Not stated

Repair cost

Not stated

Repaired

Not stated

Manufacturer warranty

Not stated

Extended warranty

Not stated

Support helpful

Not stated

Would recommend

Not stated

AI extraction confidence

92%

Verification status

Unverified

Evidence quality

★★★★☆ (4/5)

Discussion

Battery failure

Hoverboards and powered skateboards (5025)

52 months

Government / agencyIndexed Oct 16, 2026Source-linkedVerify source — SaferProducts.gov incident

SaferProducts.gov consumer incident report 20251103-8998E-2147326613. Severity: Injury, First Aid Received by Non-Medical Professional. Product: Onewheel Onewheel+ XR (The Onewheel+ XR is a self-balancing electric skateboard (often called a one-wheeled skateboard) manufactured by Future Motion Inc., designed for recreational riding, commuting, and off-road terrain. Its a single-board device with a 750W Hypercore hub motor embedded in an 11.5-inch x 6.5-6-inch Vega off-road tire, powered by a 324Wh Nickel Manganese Cobalt Oxide (NMC) lithium-ion battery (63V nominal), and controlled via solid-state MEMS 6-DOF (degrees of freedom) footpad sensors for lean-based steering and speed control (up to 19 mph/30 kph top speed, 12-18 mile/19-29 km typical range, >30 max lean angle). The board charges in ~110 minutes via USB-C and includes a Maghandle for carrying. Dimensions: 9.5 in x 11.5 in x 29.5 in (241 mm x 292 mm x 750 mm).Weight: 27 lbs (12.5 kg).Standard color: Black base with gray footpads (custom colors like blue or red available via aftermarket, but stock is monochrome).Size variants: None (one size fits all riders up to ~250 lbs recommended).Purpose: Urban and trail mobility, with app integration (Onewheel app) for ride tracking, firmware updates, and modes (e.g., Silent, Mission for speed). Hardware rev 4212 (as in your case) dates to mid-2020 production, known for fender-sensor interference without factory bumper pads. This matches your serial 2118255594 and July 2025 support thread (FM confirmed the missing bumper pad defect causing footpad wear).). Incident: What happened that made you want to report? I contacted Future Motion in July 2025 about footpad sensor wear caused by the fender grinding them (hardware rev 4212). They confirmed the missing bumper pad defect in writing but refused repair or warning, advising only to remove the fender and buy a new one. I removed the fender as a precaution. On October 26, 2025, it abruptly cut out on flat ground with no wa

UnverifiedEvidence ★★★★☆
View report details

Months until failure

52 months

Repair cost

Not stated

Repaired

Not stated

Manufacturer warranty

Not stated

Extended warranty

Not stated

Support helpful

Not stated

Would recommend

Not stated

AI extraction confidence

88%

Verification status

Unverified

Evidence quality

★★★★☆ (4/5)

Discussion

Compare nearby models

Similar products

Stay ahead of failures

Notify me about this model

Get an email when a new source-linked failure report is published for the Onewheel Onewheel+ XR.

We only email when a new published report is added for Onewheel Onewheel+ XR. No spam, unsubscribe by contacting support.

Contribute signal

Had a failure with this model?

Add your experience and help future shoppers understand what happens after the warranty.

Submit your experience